In Brief

David Walt Named to AAAS

Chemistry professor joins select leaders elected to national honor society
April 26, 2013


David R. Walt, the Robinson Professor of Chemistry in the School of Arts and Sciences and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor, is among the scholars, scientists, writers, artists and civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders named to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in April.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions and the humanities, arts and education.

“Election to the academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good,” says academy president Leslie C. Berlowitz.

Chemistry Professor David Walt and postdoctoral scholar Maël Manesse in a chemistry lab. Photo: Alonso Nichols  Walt, who is also an adjunct professor of biomedical engineering in the School of Engineering, was recognized for his pioneering work in fiber-optic microarray technology, which is used to solve such urgent problems as how to detect infectious diseases, how to identify cancer biomarkers and how to answer fundamental questions about basic biological processes in enzymology and protein folding.

Members of the 2013 class include winners of the Nobel Prize, the National Medal of Science, the Lasker Award, the Pulitzer and Shaw prizes, the Fields Medal, MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships, Kennedy Center Honors and Grammy, Emmy, Academy and Tony awards. They will be inducted at a ceremony on October 12 at the academy headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Other AAAS members from Tufts include Linda Abriola, dean of the School of Engineering; Jane Bernstein, professor of music; Daniel Dennett, the Austin B. Fletcher Professor of Philosophy and co-director of the Center for Cognitive Studies; Ray Jackendoff, the Seth Merrin Professor of Philosophy and co-director of the Center for Cognitive Studies; and Laurence Senelick, the Fletcher Professor of Oratory and director of graduate studies in the Department of Drama and Dance.