Awards in Arts, Sciences and Engineering

Nine faculty and staff recognized for contributions to the Tufts community

Nine faculty and staff members were recognized for outstanding teaching, advising, research or service by the School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering at the close of the spring semester. The awards, which were presented during the faculty meeting on May 16 at Balch Arena Theater, were:

Faculty Research Awards Committee Distinguished Scholar Award, given for research and scholarship during the past five years: Phillip Holcomb, professor and chair of psychology

Henry and Madeline Fischer Award for engineering teacher of the year, as judged by graduating seniors in the School of Engineering: Ben Hescott, assistant professor of computer science

Lillian & Joseph Leibner Award for outstanding teaching and advising: Ben Hescott, assistant professor of computer science

Lerman-Neubauer Prize, given to a faculty member judged by graduating seniors as having had a profound impact on them intellectually in and out of the classroom. In a recent Tufts tradition, the recipient will deliver the Lerman-Neubauer Lecture next year: David Art, associate professor of political science

Arts, Sciences and Engineering Faculty/Staff Multicultural Service Award, given to faculty or staff members who have made significant efforts to define Tufts as a multicultural environment: Linda Beardsley, lecturer in the department of education; June Goldstein, mentor teacher at the Tufts Educational Day Care Center

Seymour Simches Award for Distinguished Teaching and Advising, presented to a senior member of the faculty in acknowledgement of a lifetime of outstanding teaching and advising: John Conklin, professor of sociology; Joseph Noonan, professor of electrical and computer engineering

UNITE (Undergraduate Initiative in Teaching) Award, given to a junior faculty member in recognition of exceptional teaching: Scott MacLachlan, assistant professor of mathematics

Gerald R. Gill Distinguished Service Award, presented every other year to honor faculty or staff whose achievements exemplify a commitment to enriching the lives of all in the Tufts community: Travis Brown, director, Center for STEM Diversity


Back to Top