People Notes

People Notes August 2018


Jessica Halladay has joined the Office of Alumni Relations as an alumni relations assistant. She is a 2018 graduate of Hamilton College.

Katie McLeod will join Tufts this month as associate director of digital communications in University Communications and Marketing. She brings fifteen years of experience as a digital journalist, most recently at the Boston Globe.  

Michael Rodman will join Tufts later in August as vice president of the Office of Communications and Marketing. He comes to the university from the Harvard Graduate School of Education, where he has served since 2005, first as director of communications and, since 2013, as the assistant dean for communications and marketing. Previously he was assistant director of communications at Harvard Law School. He began his career in Washington, D.C., where he worked for U.S. Representative Steny Hoyer (D-Maryland) as a communications specialist. A graduate of Washington University, Rodman also has a master’s in public policy from Harvard Kennedy School.


Alex “Andrew” Bohm has a new role as Postdoctoral Officer. He comes from the School of Medicine, where he was associate professor in the Department of Developmental, Molecular and Cellular Biology. Bohm received a B.S. in biochemistry from SUNY Binghamton and a Ph.D. in biophysics from the University of California Berkeley, later completing additional postdoctoral work at Yale. He became an adjunct member of the Tufts Biochemistry Department in 1998 and moved his laboratory to the Tufts Boston campus in 2003. His laboratory is currently based in the Department of Developmental, Molecular, and Chemical Biology at the School of Medicine. His laboratory uses X-ray crystallography in conjunction with a variety of biochemical and biophysical techniques to study the structure and function of biological complexes. He also directs three courses in the Sackler School.  


Virginia Remmers, resident director of the Tufts-in-Paris program from 1977 to 2003, died in Paris on June 19 at the age of eighty-four. During her tenure, close to 750 Tufts students benefited from her “unique combination of Southern charm and Parisian savoir-faire,” said Sheila Bayne, associate dean for Programs Abroad. “She will be remembered for her dedication to students’ well-being and her kindness to those around her.”


Jamshed Bharucha, former provost and senior vice president, will lead SRM University–Amaravati, a new science and technology university in India, as its founding vice chancellor. Bharucha, most recently a distinguished fellow at Dartmouth College, brings a breadth of academic leadership experience. He came to Tufts from Dartmouth, where he was dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and the John Wentworth Professor of Psychological & Brain Sciences. He left Tufts in 2011 to become the twelfth president of the Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art. He most recently was a Distinguished Fellow at Dartmouth College. The full announcement and a video can be found here.

An entrepreneurial team from the School of Engineering and the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy recently was a finalist in the recent Elevator Pitch Contest organized by Sight and Life Foundation. The team includes Shreyas Kamath, Ph.D. candidate in electrical engineering; Karen Panetta, dean of graduate education at the School of Engineering; Christina Economos, professor of nutrition; Erin Hennessy, research assistant professor at the Friedman School; and Eleanor Skonkoff, a postdoctoral scholar. Their novel idea, called Picture This!, provides an accurate account of a person’s food and nutrient intake using digital imagery. The team won a trip to the American Society for Nutrition’s Annual meeting to pitch their proposal to potential investors.


Kelly M. Greenhill, associate professor of political science and director of International Relations Program, on July 5 contributed an article, “How Trump Manipulates the Migration Debate” in Foreign Affairs. She also participated in June in a conference on science denial at the New York Academy of Sciences. Read coverage about it in Scientific American.

Justin Hollander, A96, associate professor of urban and environmental policy and planning, presented his research on shrinking cities and spoke about his new book An Ordinary City at the SASE2018 Conference in Kyoto, Japan, at Doshisha University. He also delivered a public lecture at the City Planning Institute of Japan.

Mark Hempstead, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, contributed the article “Microprocessor designers realize security must be a primary concern” in The Conversation on July 17.

The innovative work of research team led by Sameer Sonkusale, professor of electrical and computer engineering, was recently featured in the NIH Director’s Blog. “Building a Smarter Bandage” reviews a prototype of a smart bandage equipped with temperature and pH sensors printed directly onto the surface of a thin, flexible medical tape.

James Stravridis, F83, F84, former dean of the Fletcher School, and Dave Weinstein, a cybersecurity expert, contributed the article “NATO’s Real Spending Emergency Is in Cyberspace” in Bloomberg.


Yang Yu, VG16, confronts the problem of stray mastiffs on Tibetan plateau endangering people—and snow leopards. Read more

Ayman Halaseh, EG15, volunteers to bring technology and engineering education to Syrian refugee children in Jordan. Read more


Edward Nalebuff, A49, M53, a School of Medicine clinical professor emeritus, was a pioneer in hand surgery in New England. Read more

David Kahle, Tufts’ chief information officer, lived with a passion for both technology and humanity. Read more